Grant Assessment Panel (GAP)

All grants will be assessed by our Grant Assessment Panel, who make recommendations to the Research, Policy and Innovation Committee.

The members of each of our assessment panels are listed below

  • Core

    The Research Grants Assessment Panel (RGAP) members help us in assessing grants and make recommendations to the Research, Policy and Innovation Committee. Its members are:

    Professor Alan Stitt (Chair)
    Dean of Innovation and Impact, School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences, Queens University Belfast

    Professor Alastair Denniston (Vice Chair)
    Consultant Ophthalmologist, Institute of Inflammation and Ageing, Birmingham University, Birmingham

    Professor Lynda Erskine
    Chair in Developmental Neurobiology, Institute of Medical Sciences, Aberdeen University, Scotland

    Professor Jeremy Guggenheim
    Director of Research, School of Optometry and Vision, Cardiff University, Cardiff

    Professor Alison Hardcastle
    Professor of Molecular Genetics, UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, London

    Professor Majlinda Lako
    Professor of Stem Cell Science, Institute of Genetic Medicine, Newcastle University, Newcastle

    Professor Rachael Pearson
    Professor of Developmental Neuroscience, UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, London

    Professor Jugnoo Rahi
    Professor of Ophthalmic Epidemiology, UCL GOS Institute of Child Health, London

    Professor Reinier Schlingemann
    Professor of Ophthalmology, Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands

    Professor Jessica Teeling
    Professor of Experimental Neuroimmunology, Biological Sciences, University of Southampton, Southampton

    Professor Jan Wijnholds
    Professor of Ophthalmology, Department of Neuromedical Genetics, Leiden University Medical Centre, Netherlands

    Professor Colin Willoughby
    Professor of Ophthalmology, Biomedical Sciences Research Institute, Ulster University, Northern Ireland

  • College of Experts

    The College of Experts help assess applications and make recommendations to the Research, Policy and Innovation Committee. Its members are:

    Dr Mark Ahearne
    Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical, Manufacturing & Biomedical Engineering, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

    Professor Brendan Barrett
    Professor of Visual Development, School of Optometry and Vision Science, University of Bradford, Bradford

    Dr Katie Bentley
    Group Leader, Francis Crick Institute, London

    Professor Anil Anthony Bharath
    Professor of Biologically Inspired Computation & Inference, Faculty of Engineering, Imperial College, London

    Professor Ted Garway-Heath
    Honorary Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London

    Professor Luminita Paraoan
    Professor of Molecular Cell Biology, Biology, Edge Hill University, Ormskirk

    Professor Stuart Peirson
    Associate Professor, Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology, University of Oxford, Oxford

    Dr Tony Redmond
    Senior Lecturer, School of Optometry and Vision, Cardiff University, Cardiff

    Dr Xinhua Shu
    Reader in Biomedical/Vision Sciences, Department of Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Glasgow Caledonian University, Glasgow

    Professor Rachel Williams
    Professor of Ophthalmic Bioengineering, Eye and Vision Science, University of Liverpool, Liverpool

    Professor Patrick Yu-Wai-Man
    Professor and Honorary Consultant Ophthalmologist, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge, Cambridge